Strut Records Compilation: Walter Gibbons, Mixed With Love

Strut Records has released Walter GibbonsJungle Music (Essential & Unreleased Remixes 1976-1986), the first multi-label compilation of edits by Walter Gibbons, one of the most important and unheralded DJ / remixers in New York dance music history. He was a pioneer of reel to reel edits and the art of the remix, and a tangible link between early hip hop and disco through his quickfire turntable skills developed during the mid-‘70s. For more on Walter Gibbons, his life and his work, plus a free MP3 download, check out Strut Records. Above, enjoy the 70-minute-mix from Disco Sonitus (Blackbeard’s Toni Rossano & DJ D) made up of many of the tracks on the album.

Purchase on iTunes | Amazon

More Walter Gibbons treats after the jump, including the Disco Sonitus mix tracklist, a video of Danny Krivit & Tony Smith sharing memories of Walter Gibbons and a free track from the album.

Disco Sonitus Jungle Music Mix Tracklist
1. TC James & The Fist O’Funk- Get Up On Your Feet (Keep Dancin’) (Walter Gibbons Mix)
2. Harlequin Fours- Set It Off (US 12″ Version)
3. Strafe- Set It Off (Walter Gibbons 12″ Mix)
4. Gladys Knight- It’s A Better Than Good Time (Walter Gibbons 12″ Mix)
5. Jakki- Sun… Sun… Sun… (Walter Gibbons Original 12″ Mix)
6. Sandy Mercer- You Are My Love (12″ Version)
7. Arts & Crafts- I’ve Been Searching (Walter Gibbons 12″ Mix)
8. Double Exposure- Ten Percent (Walter Gibbons 12″ Mix)
9. Luv You Madly Orchestra- Moon Maiden (12″ Mix)
10. Salsoul Orchestra- Magic Bird of Fire (Fire Bird Suite)
11. Dinosaur L- Go Bang (Walter Gibbons unreleased mix)
12: Arthur Russell- See Through (Walter Gibbons Original 12″ Edit)
13: Stetsasonic- 4 Ever My Beat (Beat Bongo Mix)



Disco Pioneer Walter Gibbons Remembered By Danny Krivit & Tony Smith
[kml_flashembed movie="" width="550" height="445" allowfullscreen="true" fvars="fs=1" /]



TC James & The Fist O’Funk- “Get Up On Your Feet” (Walter Gibbons Mix)

TC James & The Fist O’Funk- Get Up On Your Feet (Walter Gibbons Mix) by Strut