New Track: Common – “Ghetto Dreams” ft. Nas


Common has finally teamed up with sir Nasir Jones for a long overdue collaboration. Featuring production from No I.D., “Ghetto Dreams” has the two household names taking it back to the mid-90′s on this one. With Common’s 9th studio album, The Dreamer, The Believer, due this fall, it’ll be interesting to see if Common continues this theme – can’t say there are many mainstream hip-hop artists making such a bold return to the old days. We wouldn’t be mad at it, though. Not at all.

Common – Ghetto Dreams feat NAS by Nasir Jones

Purchase “Ghetto Dreams” on iTunes

Facebook | Twitter

Next Step – Artist Spotlight Contest

Giant Step is premiering a new and exciting contest for any and all musicians. We are opening up a few spots in our “Artist Spotlight” series for musicians to win a feature article on the Giant Step site. Starting Friday, July 8th and running through Saturday, July 9th, please send your links (Facebook, Soundcloud, etc) to – emails with music attached will not be read. Please include “Next Step – Artist Spotlight Contest” in your email subject line.

Winners will be notified by email. We look forward to listening to your music.

GPWW 6/30/11: Worldwide Family Mixtape: Trickski and more

In this feature-packed edition of the Gilles Peterson World Wide radio show, German super-producers Trickski, a duo known for their deep, house-infused tunes, kick things off with a mix of some of their latest and greatest cuts, such as “Beginning,” “Pill Collins,” and “Powerhouse.”

The beats keep rolling along with Gilles’ fifth volume of his trademark Bumps Mix, which showcases strictly new artists making waves on the international scene, such as Tall Black Guy, Com Truise, and Roof Light – a must-listen. For the Hip Hop heads, we get a Words and Music session with experimental rap entity Shabazz Palaces, along with some Tyler the Creator and Def Sound tracks. To cap it all off, Mr. Peterson delights us with a Summer House Mix including some of his current faves.

Part 1

Part 2

Listen in Jukebox

More Info & Tracklisting

New Release: Pimps of Joytime – ‘JANXTA FUNK!’


The Pimps of Joytime have just released their third album, JANTXA FUNK!, featuring special guests Roy Ayers and the Neville Brothers! The Brooklyn-based band is known for their captivating life performance and spirited music heavily influenced by the Brooklyn DJ culture. Also gathering influence from Los Angeles and New Orleans, charismatic bandleader Brian J pushes the Pimps’ sound to its most infectious high. Take a listen below!

Tour dates after the jump

New Track: Wu-Tang – “Laced Cheeba” + Free MP3


Gearing up for their new album, Wu-Tang has released a new single to whet our palates. “Laced Cheeba” features Ghostface, Sean Price, Trife Diesel, and is produced by Noah Rubin. Complete with Kung-Fu intro, “Laced Cheeba” is the perfect dungeon-esque rap tune that’ll make you want to throw up the Wu like it’s 1997. The group will release its 6th studio album, Legendary Weapons, on July 26th.

Wu-Tang – “Laced Cheeba” [MP3]

Facebook | Twitter | Official Site