Robert Glasper to Release ‘Black Radio’ + Tracklisting


The ever astute genre bender Robert Glasper will be releasing his forthcoming album with his equally intoxicating band, the Robert Glasper Experiment. Called Black Radio, the project will release on February 28th and includes an all star list of features that frankly is making us feel a little faint.

Prepare yourself for an unparalleled mix of jazz, hip hop, R&B and rock, with appearances from Erykah Badu, Bilal, Lupe Fiasco, Lalah Hathaway, Shafiq Husayn (Sa-Ra), KING, Ledisi, Chrisette Michele, Mos Def, Musiq Soulchild, Meshell Ndegeocello, and Stokley Williams (Mint Condition).

Black Radio will be the first full-length album from the Grammy-nominated keyboardist’s dynamic band; saxophonist Casey Benjamin, bassist Derrick Hodge, and drummer Chris Dave have come together show after show and blown away thousands with their ridiculously wondrous performances and now to have something we can take home? We almost can’t take it.

01 Lift Off/Mic Check (featuring Shafiq Husayn)
02 Afro Blue (featuring Erykah Badu)
03 Cherish The Day (featuring Lalah Hathaway)
04 Always Shine (featuring Lupe Fiasco & Bilal)
05 Gonna Be Alright (F.T.B.) (featuring Ledisi)
06 Move Love (featuring KING)
07 Ah Yeah (featuring Musiq Soulchild & Chrisette Michele)
08 Consequence Of Jealousy (featuring Meshell Ndegeocello)
09 Why Do We Try (featuring Stokley Williams)
10 Black Radio (featuring Mos Def)
11 Letter to Hermoine (featuring Bilal)
12 Smells Like Teen Spirit

Facebook | Twitter | Official Site

Video: Mia Doi Todd – “Canto de Iemanja”


“Canto de Iemanja” is easily our favorite track off Mia Doi Todd’s most recent album, Cosmic Ocean Ship. Hopefully you caught our free download for it back in August, and if not, get to it!

Flowy, sparkly swirls in the sun make up the focal point for the tropical track’s video. More precisely, however, Iemanjá is the Orisha (Goddess) of the ocean in Yoruba tradition, and represents divine consciousness, healing, unconditional love, feminine creativity and the essence of motherhood. The rituals taking place in the video depict a look into her saint’s day celebration that occurs every year on February 2nd.

Purchase Cosmic Ocean Ship on iTunes | Amazon

Facebook | Twitter | Official Site

New Tracks: Amy Winehouse – “Like Smoke” ft. Nas + “Our Day Will Come”


For those of you that missed the news, there is a new Amy Winehouse album on the horizon. Called Lioness, the album will release December 5th and features a mix of unreleased material, demos, and alternate versions to popular tracks.

Find a complete listing of tracks and descriptions on Amy’s website.

Below you’ll find streams for a couple singles that played on radio last week. “Our Day Will Come” premiered on BBC’s Radio 1 and “Like Smoke” featuring Nas premiered on New York’s Hot 97. Enjoy!

Amy Winehouse – “Our Day Will Come”

Amy Winehouse – “Like Smoke” ft. Nas

Facebook | Twitter | Official Site

Alsarah & The Nubatones Release Self-Titled EP Today


Alsarah’s voice is like fresh mist on a blistering day. Inspired by Sudanese and Nubian music, Alsarah & The Nubatones formed just a year ago and are already creating soulful, funky music with abundance and great spirit.

Perhaps best described as East African retro-pop, the group’s self-titled debut intermixes original compositions with traditional pieces to birth highly melodic sonics that might induce a spasm or two before you find yourself in a possessed state of motion.

Stream the entire project below and enjoy the free download for “Fugu!”

Alsarah & The Nubatones – “Fugu (Shams Alhurria)” [MP3]

Alsarah & the Nubatones_EP by Alsarah

Purchase Alsarah & The Nubatones on AddisTunes

Facebook | Official Site

Union – “Time Leak” ft. Talib Kweli


[kml_flashembed movie="" width="550" height="445" allowfullscreen="true" fvars="fs=1" /]

Union has dropped a triangle shaped single for their cosmic electronic “Time Leak” featuring Talib Kweli. The futuristic video above features a bluish lab with a noded up hot bald chick grooving on display.

Look out for their debut album also featuring MF Doom, Elzhi, and Guilty Simpson, to release later this year!

Purchase “Time Leak” (12″ Neon Triangle) on Fat Beats

Facebook | Twitter