DJ MKL – Self-Titled + Bah, Humbug Mixtapes


Born in Belize and raised in New York City Dj MKL, aka Michael K Lopez, incorporates a wide spectrum of influences in his music and DJ sets. His most recent mixtapes are a harmonious journey into the depths of post-dub R&B, all while tickling the underbelly of downtempo and house. MKL was nice enough to include a track list so you get chart your journey as you descend into the sonic depths. Prepare to embark.

1. If You Need Me (Larse Mix) Shaboom 

2. Hey Conny – Whim-ee- Pocket Heart 

3. Swimming (Charles Webster Remix) Tracey Thorn – Night Time EP 

4. Call Me (Dixon Edit) Mark E – Call Me 

5. Marriage – Gold Panda – Lucky Shinner 

6. Love Song 28 feat Bobby – Jullian Gomes – Love Song 28 EP 

7. Video Games ( Larry ” Mr Fingers” Heard Remix) – Lana Del Rey 

8. Close Your Eyes feat Meshell Ndegeocello – Miguel Migs – OM 

9. R. Wire – Keinerchte – 

10. I Can See Feat Ben Westbeech – Jazzanova – Upside Down EP 

11. Vision – Blaq Soul – Deep Shades Of House 

12. Message to the People – Pete Blas – Deep Shades Of House 

13. 11:11 (Basement Kid Remix) – 11:11 

14. Ryyk – Mario & Vidis – Star Wars 

15. Night Time Story (Jef K Gwen Maze Unreleased Remix) – James Teej 

16. Mpumalanga (Dub Mix) Jason Cheron – Seed 

17. Slavery Dub ( MKL Vs Soy Sos Unreleased Session) Claudia Acuna & 3 Generations Walking – Lion1music

Check out MKL on Bandcamp

Listen to the Ba Humbug 3 mix

Video: Yuna – “Live Your Life”


[kml_flashembed movie="" width="550" height="445" allowfullscreen="true" fvars="fs=1" /]

How can you not love Yuna? Seriously. She is like, incredibly adorable and graceful and talented all at once. Hopefully you all checked out our earlier post when we first mentioned “Live Your Life” and a Nirvana cover. Otherwise, just watch the video for the Pharrell produced “Live Your Life” and just try, try to act like you aren’t in love.

She is quite easy on the eyes, no? Further, we’d say it’s pretty awesome to see a hijabi (colloquially, a headscarf-wearing Muslim woman) doing her singing thing without having to flash all her stuff. Get em!

Purchase “Live Your Life” on iTunes

Facebook | Twitter | Official Site

Video: Twin Danger – “Coldest Kind Of Heart”


[kml_flashembed movie="" width="550" height="445" allowfullscreen="true" fvars="fs=1" /]

“Melodramatic pop” duo Twin Danger are amongst our newest audible fancies brought to you compliments of Blue Note. Singer-songwriter Vanessa Bley coaxes you into submission with her darling vocals while saxist and guitarist Stuart Matthewman makes melty, delicious, unfairly sexy music in his sleep (yes, that does mean he’s worked with Sade).

Enjoy the understated dim-toned black and white sexytime video for “Coldest Kind Of Heart.” A barely lit pretty lass in leather coupled with jazzy goodness coming from the shadows – what else do we need?

Facebook | Twitter | Official Site

Video: Santigold – “Disparate Youth” (Lyric Video)


[kml_flashembed movie="" width="550" height="445" allowfullscreen="true" fvars="fs=1" /]

The beloved Santigold is out with yet another video from her upcoming album, Master of My Make Believe. If the “Big Mouth” video animations weren’t enough stimulation for you, prepare yourself for yet another world of fascination.

“Disparate Youth” meshes together reggae and punk to craft an energizing declaration of “a life worth fighting for.”

Purchase “Disparate Youth” on iTunes | Amazon

Facebook | Twitter | Official Site

Preview ‘Black Radio’ by Robert Glasper on NPR + Concert Ticket Giveaways

Photo by Mike Schreiber

Robert Glasper will soon be bestowing his genius that is Black Radio to a music outlet near you. In the meantime, why not take a peek at the whole thing thanks to the awesome folks at NPR?

And yes, dears. The release show in NYC is sold out. But fear not! Enter our contest for ticket giveaways below and you might be able to spare yourself a night of spiteful sobbing.

Stream Black Radio in its entirety on NPR’s First Listen!

Enter our contest to win tickets to one of several national tour dates, including the NYC release show!

Facebook | Twitter | Official Site