Chase And Status Release ‘No More Idols’ (Deluxe Edition)


Today, drum & bass and dubstep lovers can get their hands on the deluxe edition of the UK platinum album, No More Idols. The 26-track album is the product of the magical Manchester-based duo Chase And Status, and includes the full No More Idols album as well as a slew of music videos and remixes. Featured artists and remixers include Plan B, Mali, Liam Bailey, Tinie Tempah, Sub Focus, Takura, Nero, Feed Me, Wilkinson, 16Bit, Dillon Francis, and more!

Make sure to catch Chase And Status this summer at the Electric Daisy Carnival and Starscape Festival!

Hear the Mac Miller remix for “Flashing Lights” below (a bonus not featured on the album)! And watch the entrancing video for “Hitz” featuring Tinie Tempah after the jump. Head over to our release page to watch some more awesome videos and grab the free remix of “Hitz” by Dillon Francis.

Enter our contest to win No More Idols.

Purchase No More Idols (Deluxe Edition) on iTunes or Beatport

Facebook | Twitter | Official Site

Watch the video for “Hitz” featuring Tinie Tempah after the jump

Video: Analogue Monsta – “Time To”


[kml_flashembed movie="" width="550" height="445" allowfullscreen="true" fvars="fs=1" /]

As we continue to clutch our britches in anticipation of Tokimonsta and Suzi Analogue’s collaborative Analogue Monsta project to drop, we will happy devour anything these crafty lovelies throw us. And here we have it – the video for “Time To.”

This isn’t some casual ish. Nope. It’s near catastrophically hypnotic and all consuming with its “na-na-na boo-boo” -esque swinging melody and psychedelic visuals. You might drool a little (because that’s how strong the sensory overtake is). We totally want to be a funky 8-bit-ish stick figure chilling with our guitar amongst sunflowery spinning cogs.

Tokimonsta on Facebook | Twitter | Official Site

Suzi Analogue on Facebook | Twitter | Official Site

NYC: New York African Film Festival – 4/5 to 5/28


April and May will be peppered with some awesome events compliments of the 19th New York African Film Festival (NYAFF), “a two-month event that explores notions of home and homeland through films, live performances and panel discussions.”

There are a few “must attend” events for this season that we’d like to highlight. This Thursday, April 5th will kick off the festival with a special preview of what’s in store for the festival along with a live performance by DJ Spooky. April 11th will be a screening of Mama Africa, a portrait of the illustrious artist and activist Miriam Makeba. April 13th feature the NYAFF centerpiece film, Relentless, which stars none other than the fiery and all too lovable Nneka.

To note, the April 5th event is free and does not require RSVP.

4/5: Festival Preview + Live Performance by DJ Spooky – Event Details
4/11: Opening Reception and ‘Mama Africa’ Screening – Event Details
4/13: Festival Celebration Party w/ DJ Spooky + ‘Relentless’ Screening – Event Details

Enter our contest to win tickets to the 4/11 and 4/13 events!

Facebook | Twitter | Official Site

Joy Denalane Releases ‘Maureen’ + Video


[kml_flashembed movie="" width="550" height="445" allowfullscreen="true" fvars="fs=1" /]

Been a minute since we heard from this lady. Germany’s Joy Denalane makes a welcome return with the release of her Maureen LP today. Above, you can find a the graceful young lass in a live studio session for her super smooth title track. Loving the laid-back soul to this track.

Purchase Maureen on iTunes | Amazon

Facebook | Twitter | Official Site

New Track: Ebo Taylor – “Ayesama” + Video


[kml_flashembed movie="" width="550" height="445" allowfullscreen="true" fvars="fs=1" /]

“I wanted to go back to a highlife feeling with this album,” explains Ebo Taylor. “The songs are very personal and it is an important part of my music to keep alive many traditional Fante songs, war chants and children’s rhymes.”

Hear more about Ebo’s upcoming release, Appia Kwa Bridge, in the video interview above. The album releases on April 16.

Below, you can hear an exclusive leak for our favorite album track, “Ayesama.”

Ebo Taylor – Ayesama by Strut