GPWW 7/5/10: Words and Music from Aloe Blacc

Tune in to Gilles Peterson Worldwide this week for an exciting preview of eight songs off of soul singer Aloe Blacc’s upcoming album, including his hit song, “I Need a Dollar,” his Spanish version of John Legend’s “Ordinary People,” and Aloe’s personal favorite track, “Momma Hold My Hand.” Blacc also discusses his starting days in underground hip-hop group, Emanon, and his Latin, soul, folk, and jazz influences. As usual, Gilles also provides you with an eclectic mix of music from all over the world, including songs by Sébastien Tellier, Gil Scott-Heron, and Flying Lotus.

Check out Aloe Blacc at Summerstage NYC this Saturday, see below.

Part 1


Part 2

Listen in Jukebox

More Info & Tracklisting

Raphael Saadiq, Aloe Blacc, TK Wonder and DJ Vikter Duplaix at Central Park SummerStage – July 17

Raphael Saadiq, Aloe Blacc, TK Wonder, DJ Vikter Duplaix at SummerStage - 7/17

After the last two weeks of sweltering heat, there is no doubt that summer is here and in full swing. To mark the momentous occasion (momentous only if you recall this time last summer it was so oddly cold people were pulling out long sleeve shirts) we have quite a day planned out for you at our annual SummerStage show. Raphael Saadiq, Aloe Blacc, TK Wonder w/ Moodswing Orchestra and DJ Vikter Duplaix will be taking the stage in Central Park starting at 3pm on Saturday, July 17.

Doors open at 2pm, so come early and bring the whole family.

More Info

Live Video of Gregory Porter: “Mother”

Last week we brought you soul/jazz musician Gregory Porter and shared a couple of our favorite tracks (“1960 What?” and “Wisdom”). This week, we caught a video shot in the crowd from a live performance at Smoke in NYC of “Mother,” a sweet, soulful song not on the album. You can get more from Gregory Porter on his new album, Water, out now through Motema Music.

Urban Sprawl Radio Show by DJ L.E: “All Ways”

Giant Step fam DJ L.E created this new mix as part of his radio show, Urban Sprawl. Full tracklist below. You can stream through the site, or download the whole thing.

All Ways Tracklist:

1. We Travel The Spacebeats – Emanative Space
2. Chaser – Electric Wire Hustle
3. Loving Universe (The Works Remix) – Lily M
4. Promise In Love – Jose James
5. Fall In Love (Your Funeral) – Erykah Badu
6. Is that You God? (Dabrye Remix) – Goodie Mob
7. Gills Or Wings – Sonnymoon
8. Emora – The Clonious
9. Dust & Kisses – Shafiq Husayn
10. Feather – Little Dragon
11. Fallin’ Down (Feat Parks) – Julien Dyne
12. Average Fruit – Quadron
13. Always Will (Feat Muhsinah & Kaidi Tatham) – Eric Lau
14. Nail Polish – Nikko Gray
15. Constellations – Joy Jones
16. Done It (K15 Remix) – Jazz Chronicles