Detroit's Invictus - Sampled By Hip Hop Greats Made By Mowtown Hit Makers

Online Released On: May 01, 2007
Released By: Sanctuary Records

release description

Sanctuary Records presents it's first digital only compilation Detroit's Invictus, which is an enthralling journey through the original context of sounds which may also be familiar to some in the form they have been sampled by artist such De La Soul, A Tribe Called Quest, Outkast, Fat Boy Slim and Pete Rock.

The 14 tracks featured on this compilation are all produced by the all-star song writing trio of Lamont Dozier and brothers Brian and Eddie Holland (Holland-Dozier-Holland) who have produced legendary gems for the likes of The Supremes, Junior Walker & The All Stars, The Four Tops, Martha & The Vandellas, The Isley Brothers and The Elgins at Motown in the 1960s. After playing a vital role in establishing Berry Gordy's Motown hit factory, the Hall of Fame song writing and production trio began to find the Gordy regime confining and decided to break out on their own, setting up labels Hot Wax & Invictus, which led to a string of hit's in the early 70's for Freda Payne, the Chairman of the Board, Laura Lee, 100 Proof (Aged in Soul), and the Honey Cone.

The tracks making up this unique compilation of sampled tracks are as follows:
1. Freda Payne - Unhooked Generation

As sampled by JVC Force's - Strong Island - 1988
2. Parliament - Little Old Country Boy

De La Soul - Potholes In My Lawn - 1989
3. 8th Day - She's Not Just Another Woman

The Diabolical Biz Markie - She's Not Just Another Woman (Monique) - 1989
4. Freda Payne - We've Gotta Find A Way Back To Love

A Tribe Called Quest - Ham and Eggs - 1990
5. Laura Lee - Crumbs Off The Table

D-Nice - Crumbs On The Table - 1990//Ice Cube - This Is A Man's World - 1990
6. Politicians - Free Your Mind

Professor Griff - Pawns In The Game - 1990//Nikki D - Letting Off Steam - 1991
7. Flaming Ember - Gotta Get Away

Diamond D - I'm Outta Here - 1992
8. Parliament - Come In Out Of The Rain

Jungle Brothers - I'm In Love With Indica - 1993//Outkast - Elevators - 1996//

Xzibit - What U See Is What U Get - 1998
9. 100 Proof Aged In Soul - Somebody's Been Sleeping (In My Bed)

Big Daddy Kane - Somebody's Been Sleeping In My Bed - 1994

10. The Just Brothers - Sliced Tomatoes

Fat Boy Slim - Rockafella Skank - 1998
11. Freda Payne - The Road We Didn't Take

Defari - Checkstand 3 - 1999//DJ Cam ft Afu-Ra - Voodoo Child (Premier Remix) - 2003
12. Freda Payne - Instrumental Prelude

Pete Rock - Give It To Y'all - 2001
13. Honey Cone - Want As

Mary Mary - Heaven - 2005
14. Honey Cone - Innocent Until Proven Guilty

Common - Testify - 2005