Palace Lounge Presents Cafe d'Afrique Vol. 3

CD Released On: Jun 26, 2007
Released By: Savoy Jazz Worldwide

release description

Café d'Afrique Volume 3 inspires a trip to the Cape of Good Hope, a rocky headland on the Atlantic coast of South Africa by serving up chilled beats and breezy nu-house rhythms that makes hearts race and bodies move. The set flawlessly blends downtempo and upbeat tunes into one breathtaking journey. The #1 selling dance music collection in South Africa in 2006, the third installment in the international chillout compilation series, Café d'Afrique is brought together by South African producers Andrew Mitchley and David Gresham, bridging the cream of both South African and European dance music scenes together.

Café d'Afrique Volume 3 includes a rare breakout hit, never before released in the U.S. by New Mastersounds, written by and featuring (then unknown) Corinne Bailey Rae. The original "Your Love Is Mine" 7" single release was such an underground hit that shortly after release it was picked as "Single of the Week" by BBC Radio in the U.K. Beside Corinne Bailey Rae, the Café d'Afrique series puts a spotlight on many producers, DJs, musicians and vocalists who have quietly established notable buzz primarily in South Africa and parts of Europe. Other standouts include Mint Royale's "Little Words," Dalminjo's "Ucho Ryokou," and JoJo Effect's smart take on Sonny & Cher's, "The Beat Goes On." With a spacious moodiness that evokes the playful seduction of true downtempo, Café d'Afrique Volume 3 evokes sounds reminiscent of artists such as Zero 7, Fragile State and Naked Music staples Aya and Blue Six.