Album  Released On: Nov 02, 2010
Released By: Star Trak / Interscope

release description

Nothing is the fourth studio album from the alternative rock trio, N.E.R.D. The group came up with the title because, according to N.E.R.D. front man Pharrell Williams, "it's like nothing you've ever heard."

The record is decidedly stripped down. In contrast to the earlier albums pumped the volume up with big band rock songs, Nothing is a rock 'n roll soul album. The first single from the album, "Hot-N-Fun," featuring the Neptunes' collaborator and friend Nelly Furtado, is a bounce-filled, sweaty summer club track with echoes of old-school roller-skating jams. The group have already premiered their next single, a track produced by electronic music duo Daft Punk, called "Hypnotize U." Other songs like "Party People" featuring T.I. and "In The Air" cultivate the youthful idealism of hearing a favorite song for the first time, while Pharrell spins slick-tongued poetry about the appeal of women. For him, his approach is to "not sing sexy shit, but sing about real shit in a sexy way."

Whereas their first album, In Search Of..., was an imaginative, exploration of identities, their second album, Fly Or Die, sought out the range of genres and sounds that have influenced the group, and their third album, Seeing Sounds, grinded everything together, Nothing promises to be an album that delivers a brand new N.E.R.D. sound, an album that amplifies the attitudes, style and persona that has made Pharrell, Chad and Shae the transcendent cultural icons they are today.