In Our Heads

Album Released On: Jun 12, 2012
Released By: Domino Recording Co

release description

Hot Chip's fifth album, In Our Heads, is a playful piece seemingly unburdened by extraneous fuss or showiness. It is a joyous record aimed squarely at the heart of the dancefloor. Frontman Joe Goddard explains, "We tried to make something joyful and alive and that's it really... I want to listen to records like Never Too Much by Luther Vandross. I don't want to listen to a band that's caught up in their hang-ups and problems. That's just not interesting to me."

The opening track 'Motion Sickness' seems to dizzily modulate one step ahead of the listener with every four bar loop. The track 'How Do You Do' is a celebration of the joy of life itself stretched over a backing track that sounds like a Chicago house record reinforced with titanium.

The joyfulness is runs wild on the utterly ecstatic wordless chorus of 'Let Me Be Him'. And the same joy is there on the constantly evolving, Abbey Road-esque ballad 'Now There Is Nothing'. In fact, it's there right through the middle of In Our Heads, helping to forge something akin to the perfect synthesis of electronics and live instrumentation, a place where Alexis' beautifully soulful vocals sit as perfectly on liquid R&B backing tracks as on songs that sound like Prince beaming back from the 31st century.

In Our Heads collects the band's first recordings for a new label. Following the completion of a three album deal with EMI, the band have moved operations to what could be seen as something of a spiritual home at Domino.