Andrew Ashong Leaves “Flowers” On Our Path


Andrew Ashong’s “Flowers” track received the honor of being nominated as Gilles Peterson’s Best Track of 2012. The song was born out of a collaborative effort with Theo Parrish.

While “Flowers” has a more sparse, swingy, and danceable feel, Andrew’s other recent-ish release “Take It Slow” takes on a more funky electro-soul vibe. Both are great tracks that you should definitely dig into below.

Video: Gilles Peterson – Worldwide Awards 2013 Official Video


While Americans were immersed in Inauguration weekend, in London Gilles Peterson and some musical fam were grooving the eff out at his annual Worldwide Awards. The above recap video gives a look into the night’s performances and festivities and offers some words from Gilles himself.

Those featured include Marcos Valle, Neneh Cherry with RocketNumberNine, The Invisible, Nick Mulvey, Natalie Duncan, The Greg Foat Group, Hello Skinny, Nai Palm of Hiatus Kaiyote, Mala in Cuba, Stubborn Heart, Andrew Ashong, Romare, Mr Raoul K, LeFtO, Alex Patchwork and Owiny Sigoma Band.

The year’s breakout artist was Hiatus Kaiyote, whom we also love quite dearly. Catch Nai Palm getting down at the awards show below.

Facebook | Twitter | Official Site