New Release: Lord Echo – ‘Curiosities’ [Full Album Stream]


Today, the elusive Kiwi producer-extraordinaire Lord Echo (aka Mike Fabs) releases his long-awaited sophomore solo album Curiosities via Brooklyn’s own Bastard Jazz Recordings. The painstakingly-crafted LP of original material tastefully transcends a landscape of disco, dub, funk, afrobeat and soul, showcasing Fab’s “dual-mastery of 60′s production techniques and modern dancefloor aesthetics”.

The album also underscores New Zealand’s hard-won rep for cultivating a new generation of groundbreaking artists and masterful musicians (not to mention chart-topping pop stars of similar “royal” appellation). Curiosities features a wealth of Echo’s soulful compatriots including heralded vocalists like Toby Laing (of Fat Freddy’s Drop), Mara TK (from Electric Wire Hustle), Leila Adu and Lisa Tomlins, who graces the album’s soaring cover version of the Pharoah Sanders & Leon Thomas classic “The Creator Has a Master Plan.”

Enjoy the full album stream below and more info here.

New Music: Lord Echo – “Molten Lava” feat. Leila Adu + “Digital Haircut”


New Zealand multi-instrumentalist and producer Lord Echo (aka Mike Fabs) gears up for his highly-anticipated sophomore album Curiosities, by dropping a two-track single this week. The chunky, dubby-disco tune “Molten Lava” features vocals from his long-time muse Leila Adu, while the funky afro-house vibes of “Digital Haircut” give us a slice of the dancefloor-piquing flavors that the full album has in store. Pre-order Curiosities for an instant download of these single tracks.

New Release: Teeko & B. Bravo Present ‘Tempo Dreams Vol. 2′


Following the critically-acclaimed 2012 release of their beat-centric compilation Tempo Dreams Vol. 1(assembled by Detroit/UK producer-at-large Tall Black Guy), Brooklyn wax purveyors Bastard Jazz Recordings have returned with Volume 2 of the enlightening, genre-bending series. This time around, the label has enlisted Bay Area mainstay DJ/producers Teeko & B. Bravo, driving forces behind the transformative “modern funk” sound emerging out of the West Coast. Sticking with the series’ theme of showcasing new styles and emerging artists, curated by their own musical peers, Teeko and Bravo have conjured up an LP of mind-blowing tracks that push the limits of soulful electronic funk, outernational boogie, and cosmic hip-hop.

Tempo Dreams Volume 2 picks up where the first edition left off, bridging the gaps between various geographic locations and local scenes, while also reaching for new heights with soaring vocal features and dance-floor primed beats. Featured artists include Rojai, E.Live, K-Maxx, Bayonics, Mugpush, Black Spade, Teeko & B. Bravo’s own Starship Connection, Belgium’s Pomrad, Atjazz, Amalia, and Insomniax.

Buy Tempo Dreams Vol. 2 (Digital, LP and/or CD)

New Release: Teeko & B. Bravo – ‘A Taste Of Tempo Dreams Vol. 2′ (7-inch)



For the upcoming Tempo Dreams Vol. 2 compilation put together by Teeko and B. Bravo, Bastard Jazz has released a groovy 2-track sampler. The first track is a free download and features Bay Area duo Starship Connection consisting of Teeko and B. Bravo; “We Can Go All Night” glides easy with soft vocals and slinky boogie embellishments. Next is the slightly more upbeat and funky “Dreamin’ of You” with Bay Area producer and vocalist K-Maxx and its incredibly addictive swing.

For those that slept on Tempo Dreams, Vol. 1 compiled by Tall Black Guy, be sure to give that a spin, too!