The Roots Release ‘undun’ App + NPR Stream


The Roots certainly didn’t disappoint with the “Make My” single off their December 6th slated undun. And now we can be further not disappointed with a complete stream of the album on NPR. The moody and often melancholy concept based album is layered and textured, playing out like an audio story, which could also easily double as a film soundtrack.

Also, yesterday the group dropped a free iTunes app to go with their very first conceptual project. The app includes photos, lyrics, interviews, music video snippets and in all “an immersive experience that elucidates the life and times of one Redford Stephens,” the focal character on undun.

1. Dun
2. Sleep
3. Make My feat. Big K.R.I.T. & Dice Raw
4. One Time feat. Phonte & Dice Raw
5. Kool On feat. Greg Porn & Truck North
6. The OtherSide feat. Bilal Oliver & Greg Porn
7. Stomp feat. Greg Porn
8. Lighthouse feat. Dice Raw
9. I Remember
10. Tip The Scale feat. Dice Raw
11. Redford (For Yia-Yia & Pappou)
12. Possibility (2nd Movement)
13. Will To Power (3rd Movement)
14. Finality (4th Movement)

Dowload the undun app on iTunes

Facebook | Twitter | Official Site

New Track: The Roots – “Make My” ft. Big K.R.I.T. + Album


The Roots have recently announced a new album to release on December 6th, undun. The work will be conceptual and take form of “an existential re-telling of the short life of one Redford Stephens (1974-1999).” Questlove says of the project, “at this point in our career we’d like for our work to have a unifying theme, and an experiential quality.” We can most certainly dig that.

Also with the announcement came a new track entitled “Make My,” featuring none other than southern gentleman Big K.R.I.T.. It’s a sleepy and melodic yet catchy tune. Stream below.

The Roots “Make My” featuring Big K.R.I.T. by okayplayer

Facebook | Twitter | Official Site

New Release: Phonte – ‘Charity Starts At Home’ + Exclusive


Have you stopped hyperventilating yet? We’re trying, but it’s sort of been a long time coming for this one. And that killing track with Elzhi just tangled us up in anticipation even more.

Earlier this week, Phonte dropped his solo debut entitled Charity Starts At Home. Obviously, it’s a treat. Phonte’s rapping, he’s singing, he’s clever as always, and he just can’t stop making music that sounds good, can he? We got streams for a few of our favorite tracks to demonstrate our point.

Also, be sure to cop our exclusive free download for “The Life of Kings” featuring Evidence and Big K.R.I.T.

Phonte – “The Good Fight”

Phonte – “We Go Off”

Phonte – “The Life of Kings” ft. Evidence and Big K.R.I.T. [MP3]

Purchase Charity Starts At Home on iTunes | Amazon

Facebook | Twitter | Official Site