New Track: Lotus feat. Lyrics Born & Chris Vos “Cannon in the Heavens”

Lotus Monks cover_550

While they have always straddled genres, electronic 5-piece Lotus is breaking new ground with the hip-hop infused album Monks, out September 10th (pre-order). Using the band’s own studio work as a sample source, the music will have a familiar feel to Lotus fans but recontextualized as classic hip-hop featuring Lyrics Born, Gift of Gab (Blackalicious), Mr. Lif, Doodlebug (Digable Planets) and more. Vibe dropped the first single, “Cannon in the Heavens” feat. Lyrics Born and Chris Vos today as a free download. Grab it below.

Monks Tracklisting:

1. Monk (Young)
2. He Ain’t Well – ft. Ozay Moore
3. Cannon in the Heavens – ft. Lyrics Born and Chris Vos (Record Company)
4. Great Molasses Flood
5. Deep Inside the Mothership – ft. CX
6. Different Dream – ft. Mr. Lif and Jay Lapp (Steel Wheels)
7. Pitched to the Fire
8. Another World – ft. Gift of Gab
9. In the Shadow of Towers
10. Follow Me – ft. Mane Rok and Xencs L. Wing
11. Atlas Slugged
12. Simplify Unwind – ft. Mr. Lif
13. Four Tips – ft. Ras Arcane
14. Bow Out
15. Cloud 9 – ft. Doodlebug and Ras Arcane
16. Monk (Old)