Exclusive Release: ‘Sonic Boom Vol. 4′ (Compiled by Maiya Norton)



In partnership with Giant Step, resident compilation master Maiya Norton today serves the world up with the long-awaited Sonic Boom Vol. 4!

Vol. 4 features lots of go-to indie faves, including Iman Omari, MoRuf, BOSCO, Muhsinah, THEESatisfaction, Def Sound, Nikko Gray, Hypnotic Brass Ensemble, and Coultrain.

We’ve also got up-and-comers like Mndsgn, Jessica Newry, Shi Wisdom, Kalani Trinidad, JusMoni, Joya Mooi, and Byron The Aquarius showing us what they’re workin with.

Stand outs include spine-tingling opener “Prayed For” by Iman Omari, the breathy and sensual “Slippin” by BOSCO, the deliciously layered and melodic “Queen County” by THEESatisfaction, the soft and lulling “Beyond of You” by Joya Mooi, and the groovy “All In” by Hypnotic Brass Ensemble.

While much of the collection showcases dug up gems and lesser known tracks, we are also proud to have Sonic Boom Vol. 4 be the place Muhsinah premiered the spirited “L.M.O.” (Giant Step Mix), a version of “Let Me Out” off her upcoming March album, Amazing.

Hit play already, and make your week that much better.

Video: Coultrain – ‘Between’ (dir. Knny Frsh)


We are overjoyed to share our homie Knny Frsh’s directorial debut on what happens to be an ill prelude to Coultrain’s upcoming album. Watch the video to catch the story of Coultrain’s Seymour Liberty character to date. Really draws you in.

Look out for Jungle Mumbo Jumbo to drop on April 23.

Video: Hawthorne Headhunters – “My Sweetheart The Drunk”


[kml_flashembed movie="http://www.youtube.com/v/REbvxn73NvU" width="550" height="445" allowfullscreen="true" fvars="fs=1" /]

Last summer, Black Spade and Coultrain released the buzzing and lifting Myriad of Now record under their Hawthorne Headhunters moniker. We now got the video for “My Sweetheart The Drunk,” the vibrating, dark, and dramatic track featuring a laced villainous lady.

Myriad Of Now available on iTunes now.

Facebook | Twitter | Plug Research

Video: Hawthorne Headhunters – “Teleport”


In October of last year, we shared a few tunes with you a la the Myriad of Now EP by Hawthorne Headhunters (Coultrain and Blackspade). Sooner than you know it, the Myriad of Now full length album will be dropping with sounds you didn’t know could feel so good.

While you wait, watch the beautifully done video for “Teleport” off the EP. With magnificent landscapes, glows, shadows, and delicate beauty of the minutiae, the video plays out something like a daydream.

Look for Myriad of Now to release on April 10!

Pre-order Myriad of Now on iTunes

Facebook | Twitter

New Release: Tall Black Guy Productions – ‘Lost Tapes’


The fortunate of you have been knowing about Tall Black Guy Productions, a producer we had the honor of highlighting as our September Next Step winner. The rest of you have a bit of work to do, but don’t worry – we got you.

BamaLoveSoul just put out a free mixtape of “earlier works, remixes and lesser known tracks” from our dude. Behold! Lost Tapes by The Tall Black Guy. Enjoy remixes of Eric Roberson, Common, Camp Lo, and Coultrain, interspersed with original productions by the talented tall man as well. Good times.

Tall Black Guy Productions – Lost Tapes [Download on Hotfile]

Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud | Official Site