Exclusive Release: ‘Sonic Boom Vol. 4′ (Compiled by Maiya Norton)



In partnership with Giant Step, resident compilation master Maiya Norton today serves the world up with the long-awaited Sonic Boom Vol. 4!

Vol. 4 features lots of go-to indie faves, including Iman Omari, MoRuf, BOSCO, Muhsinah, THEESatisfaction, Def Sound, Nikko Gray, Hypnotic Brass Ensemble, and Coultrain.

We’ve also got up-and-comers like Mndsgn, Jessica Newry, Shi Wisdom, Kalani Trinidad, JusMoni, Joya Mooi, and Byron The Aquarius showing us what they’re workin with.

Stand outs include spine-tingling opener “Prayed For” by Iman Omari, the breathy and sensual “Slippin” by BOSCO, the deliciously layered and melodic “Queen County” by THEESatisfaction, the soft and lulling “Beyond of You” by Joya Mooi, and the groovy “All In” by Hypnotic Brass Ensemble.

While much of the collection showcases dug up gems and lesser known tracks, we are also proud to have Sonic Boom Vol. 4 be the place Muhsinah premiered the spirited “L.M.O.” (Giant Step Mix), a version of “Let Me Out” off her upcoming March album, Amazing.

Hit play already, and make your week that much better.

Video: Def Sound – “Dance In Our Minds” + ‘△nything: thee.idea.machine.’ Release


[kml_flashembed movie="http://www.youtube.com/v/x-VZUIByaOk" width="550" height="445" allowfullscreen="true" fvars="fs=1" /]

This week, our cheeky friend Def Sound released his new album △nything: thee.idea.machine. along with a video for “Dance In Our Minds.” The slightly creepy video has Def hypnotized by a chain wielding body painted young lady amidst spinning wheels and smoke. Almost looks like she has him captured in an insane asylum – kinky.

And as we’ve come to expect, the album is filled with plenty more creative zone-worthy gems – eclecticness for your heart’s every desire. Cop below!

Purchase △nything: thee.idea.machine. on That Young Def Shop

Facebook | Twitter | Official Site

Video: Def Sound – “Eyes&Axx”


Los Angeles vocalist and gentleman Def Sound has released a new video called “Eyes&Axx,” which is not only a music video but also serves the lookbook for his upcoming mercy store. Clever, no? The fun, bouncy track is coupled with some pretty rad synchronization and amusing quirk in this visual snack time. And we must say, those are some finely dressed lil hipster peeps.

Want to grab some gear for your hot young self? Head to thatyoungdefshop.com.

Def Sound – “Eyes&Axx” [Download on Soundcloud]

Facebook | Twitter | Official Site

Video: Anthony Valadez – “Precious” ft. Def Sound


[kml_flashembed movie="http://www.youtube.com/v/p4byZlR_yRA" width="550" height="445" allowfullscreen="true" fvars="fs=1" /]

Firstly, Anthony Valadez murked it on that “Under Water” track with Mar last month. Go ahead and listen if you missed that somehow.

Most recently, he teamed up with LA vocalist Def Sound to release the short but sweet stop motion video for “Precious.” The nautical vibe tune shouts out Herbal Essence (remember how that was the jam back in the day?) and weird chicks. We’re into it.

Pre-Order Just Visiting on iTunes

Twitter | Official Site

Video: Def Sound – “Birds I View”


[kml_flashembed movie="http://www.youtube.com/v/AGtK2jNgOHA" width="550" height="445" allowfullscreen="true" fvars="fs=1" /]

Sir Def Sound is back with a new video featuring the awesome Nikko Gray and production by the wicked Brook D’Leau of J*Davey. The dissonant, lilting tune is a boozy mash of swirling sounds and is served up in a room of black and white eye-centric photographs.

Def’s upcoming project, △nything: thee.idea.machine., to drop soon!

Facebook | Twitter | Official Site