New Release: DJ Sun – ‘One Hundred’


Houston based DJ/producer DJ Sun originally came up in Rotterdam and Suriname and today releases his debut album, 100. The project brings together 20 years of work, fusing electronic sounds with live instrumentation and a healthy dose of Houston vocalists.

100 focuses on music at 100 BPM, as DJ Sun explains in his video interview above. Learn more about this seasoned artist and his melange of sound in the interview.

Below, listen to “Heart Seed,” which features Leah Alvarez and Martin Perna of Antibalas.


Purchase One Hundred on iTunes | Amazon

Facebook | Twitter

Ocote Soul Sounds – ‘Taurus’ + MP3


Octote Soul Sounds has returned with their funk-infused afrobeat sounds on their fourth studio album, Taurus (May 31st). Consisting of Adrian Quesada of Grupo Fantasma and Martin Perna of Antibalas, each man bears an impressive resume, with Grupo Fantasma’s 2011 Grammy and Antibalas backing the Tony Award winning Broadway show, “Fela!”

Produced by Eric Hilton of Thievery Corporation and released on ESL Music, Taurus features guest spots from Natalia Clavier, Sitali, Verny Varela and Chico Mann. Looking for something to shake to? This is it. Download the opening track from the album, “Primavera,” for free below!

Ocote Soul Sounds – Primavera

Purchase Taurus on iTunes | Amazon

Facebook | Twitter