New Track: Sonzeira – “Bam Bam Bam” (feat. Seu Jorge & Giovanca)

Okayafrica premiered a track from Gilles Peterson’s new collective, Sonzeira today. The song is “Bam Bam Bam” featuring Seu Jorge & Giovanca and is from the album Brasil Bam Bam Bam, out in the U.S. on May 27th via Harvest Records (pre-order).

One of the world’s most respected DJs and Brazilian music aficionados, Gilles turned producer for this ambitious venture, setting up camp in Rio de Janeiro with young UK production associates Sam Shepherd (Floating Points); Dilip Harris and Rob Gallagher from 2 Banks of 4; and Kassin from Rio collective Orquestra Imperial. Together they set about recording all-new material with a stellar line-up of Brazilian talent, under the name Sonzeira.

Check out the trailer below for some behind the scenes footage of the making of the album.

New Track: Modern Monarch- “Used The World”


We fell in love with Jenna Andrews around the release of her EP, Kiss and Run. Now, the talented songstress has a new project with fellow artist Caleb Shreve called Modern Monarch.

“Used The World” is the duo’s debut track, and it’s a fun piece of electro-soul with a chorus that has us bouncing around the dance floor. With numerous achievements in the music scene under both of their belts already, we can’t wait to hear more.

New Track: OBaH – “I Dream of Rio”


OBaH premieres the track, “I Dream of Rio,” today with Okayfuture. It’s from his debut EP, Cross Fade, out March 7th. With the intense winter weather we’ve had lately, we too are dreaming of Rio.

Hit the dance floor with OBaH in the DJ booth every Monday and Tuesday from 6-11pm at The Top of The Standard, the penthouse lounge at The Standard, Highline in New York City. On March 13th, he joins Rich Medina’s monthly NYC party, Little Ricky’s Rib Shack, at Louie & Chan for his official EP release party.

New Track: Sidewalk Chalk – “Grocery List”



Our friends over at Revive Music premiered the new single from Chicago’s Sidewalk Chalk today. Give it a spin below. The track recalls the funk of Parliament and jilted drums of J Dilla while showcasing the band’s evolution of hip-hop, soul, and jazz. The album, Leaves, drops February 25th, and the 8-piece has just announced two album release shows: 2/21 at Chicago’s Double Door & 2/22 at NYC’s DROM.

And if you missed the premiere of the first single, “There She Goes,” courtesy of Okayplayer, download it for free below.

New Track – The Soul Rebels cover Drake’s “Headlines”


Mixtape Cover 550

New Orleans’ The Soul Rebels announced the release date of the Power = Power mixtape today with Okayplayer. On December 3rd, the 8-piece group will offer it up as a free download featuring studio tracks, live versions and remixes of original material as well as covers of modern day hits. Today, they premiered a cover of Drake’s “Headlines” featuring a nice Nina Simone intro. Check it out below.

They previously leaked two other tracks from the project including an exclusive remix to their cover of Daft Punk’s “Get Lucky” featuring Big Freedia and a medley of Jay-Z classic hits entitled “Thank You.”