New Track: Vince Giordano & The Nighthawks “Sugarfoot Stomp” (Pete Rock Remix)



HBO’s Boardwalk Empire returns for its fourth season this coming Sunday, and Giant Step has partnered with HBO, ABKCO Records and Sony Music Entertainment for a special music project entitled Sounds of The Onyx that features rare jazz recordings from the Prohibition Era remixed by some of the best contemporary urban music producers. Vibe kicked things off today with the release of Vince Giordano & The Nighthawks’ “Sugarfoot Stomp” remixed by Pete Rock. It is available for free download via The entire project will be available for stream only on September 16th. Check out the full tracklisting below.

While the other remixes utilize vintage 1920’s recordings, Pete Rock was the only collaborator tasked to remix one of the new recordings from the official soundtrack: a cover version of the classic composition performed by Giordano and the NYC jazz ensemble, who serve as the Boardwalk Empire house band.

Volume 2 of the show’s official soundtrack is available now and features all new recordings from a wide range of vocalists – from Elvis Costello and Patti Smith to St. Vincent and The National’s Matt Berninger – singing timeless standards and forgotten gems from the 1920s. Download it now on iTunes.

Sounds of The Onyx
1. Vince Giordano & The Nighthawks “Sugarfoot Stomp” (Pete Rock Remix)
2. Eva Taylor & Clarence Williams’ Blue Five “Red Hot Flo From Kokomo (Jazz Vampires)” (DJ Jazzy Jeff Remix)
3. Ethel Waters “One Sweet Letter From You” (Om’Mas Keith Remix)
4. Lloyd Scott & His Orchestra “ Happy Hour Blues” (Shafiq Husayn Remix)
5. Jim Jackson “Bootlegging Blues” (JayCeeOh & B-Sides Remix)
6. Charlie Johnson’s Paradise Ten Orchestra “You Ain’t The One” (Tall Black Guy Remix)

New Remix: The Knocks feat. St. Lucia “Modern Hearts” (Keljet Remix)


MH Keljet Remix

The Knocks partnered up with Indaba Music and Giant Step for a “Modern Hearts” remix contest, and after receiving over 600 submissions from around the globe, the duo has chosen Keljet as the grand prize winner. Download via SoundCloud below.

Keljet is Teun Pranger and Koen Mestrum, two high school friends from Nijmegen, The Netherlands. Multiple Keljet songs have vaulted to the #1 spot on Hype Machine’s “Most Popular” chart, including their remix of The Temper Trap’s “Love Lost” which has had over 2 million plays on YouTube. Apart from the continuous flow of bootlegs and remixes, Keljet released numerous originals on labels as well as free downloads including recent collaborations with several international artists such as X Ambassadors and AVAN LAVA. Check them out on SoundCloud.

New Track: BenZel & Jessie Ware – “If You Love Me” (Xaphoon Jones & Grave Goods Remix)

The second remix of a BenZel track to come out this week, here is Xaphoon Jones and Grave Goods‘ reversion of the Japanese duo’s collab with Jessie Ware, “If You Love Me.” It’s a big one, befitting the deeply votive original cover.

The future is looking extremely bright for Umi Takahashi and Yoko Watanabe of BenZel, and we cannot wait for more magic from these teenage wizards!

Jessie Ware – Night Light (Perseus Remix)


Perseus strips down the original version of “Night Light,” by Jessie Ware, exposing the vocals and giving it a seductive sheen, a pulsating beat and a throwback vibe for all you 80′s era nostalgists. It’s a combination of sweet, soulful R&B with that fresh wave of UK bass we have come to love so much. Perseus harnesses Ware‘s immense vocal range with this remix and creates a seamless and mesmerizing transition back in time to the golden age of 80′s pop/R&B. Enjoy my damies!



Facebook | Twitter

New Remix: Tanya Lacey – “Born To Fly” (by Roni Size)


Our favorite Tanya Lacey song, “Born To Fly” has gotten a special remix treatment from none other than drum and bass beast Roni Size. The two Bristol natives join forces to create an amplified, gravelly sound that is bound to stir something inside you.

Tanya Lacey – “Born To Fly” (Roni Size Remix) [MP3]

Facebook | Twitter | Official Site