New Track: Szjerdene – “The System” + MP3


One of our favorite songbirds, Szjerdene, has a new track out and always, its transporting powers are strong. “The System” features production from Giant Step friends Tensei and is a flurry of ambient tones and embellishments, creating a fantasy world perfect for the angelic voice of our lady. Stream below.

Facebook | Twitter | Official Site

Exclusive Release: ‘Sonic Boom Vol. 1′ (Compiled by Maiya Norton) + Download


Giant Step contributor Maiya Norton today kicks off a marvelous treat for our readers and listeners. A new music compilation series called Sonic Boom will bring together some of the tastiest new tunes around, including several tracks that will be Giant Step exclusives!

Sonic Boom Vol. 1 features some of our favorite noisemakers of late: Tall Black Guy, Szjerdene, Teresa Jenee, Tensei, and Hiatus Kaiyote are just some of the amazing artists that you’ll get to hear. Stream the entire thing and download for free below!

Maiya Norton on Twitter

View back cover after the jump

New Track: Tall Black Guy – “Sparkling Adventure” + MP3


Tempo Dreams Vol. 1 is going to be a sure treat says the awesome trailer we posted a few weeks back.

For those that need a rehash, Tall Black Guy has curated the upcoming compilation to include some of his favorite upcoming producers worldwide. The lineup includes Tensei, Ta-Ku, Chief, Teru, Monkey Robot, Buscrates, Doc Illingsworth, and others.

Today, we’ve got a free down of the only Tall Black Guy track on the project, “Sparkling Adventure.” And indeed it is a glistening, shimmery, tropical adventure!

Pre-Order Tempo Dreams Vol. 1 on iTunes

Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud | Official Site

Video: Tall Black Guy ‘Tempo Dreams Vol. 1′ Trailer


One of our favorite fellas, Tall Black Guy, has put together a pretty incredible compilation featuring eleven other emerging producers. Called Tempo Dreams Vol. 1, the project will include Tensei, MonkeyRobot, Ta-Ku, Evil Needle, Teru, Chief, Jeriko Jackson, Buscrates, Floydcheung, Doc Illingsworth, Schecky’s Jazzy Tofu, and of course, Tall Black Guy.

Taking inspiration from 90s downtempo, the result is some sexy, jazzy, melodic hip-hop wonderfulness – listen for yourself in the trailer video above. Look out for Tempo Dreams Vol. 1 to drop on June 19.

Pre-Order Tempo Dreams Vol. 1 on iTunes

Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud | Official Site

New Release: Tensei – ‘One’ EP + MP3


You may be familiar with Tensei as our winners of the November 2011 Next Step Contest. Of late, this Chicago-based production duo is gearing up for their upcoming full length album with an EP that’s setting quite the standard.

One showcases the producers’ deft technique in using live instrumentation and ‘self-sampling’ to craft their music. The result is a set of some acutely groove-worthy jams. Jam after jam, folks. Get down!

Stream the full EP below and also download the bonus track “For The Love” for free!

Tensei – “For The Love” ft. Adad, Yaw, & Denmark [Download on Soundcloud]

Purchase One on iTunes

Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud