New Release: The Bullitts – ‘They Die By Dawn & Other Short Stories’


What’s an album where Jay Electronica makes three features and also has Rosario Dawson singing? The Bullitts new album out today not only features the aforementioned but also includes appearances from Yasiin Bey (fka Mos Def), Lucy Liu, and Tori Amos.

They Die By Dawn & Other Short Stories sets a strong precedent for any future cowboy film soundtracks. Sounds range from whimsical and slow, disco, rocked out, mashed up hip-hop, and on. Nothing is predictable and everything is wonderful.

Stream the entire album on Okayplayer.

Video: The Bullitts – “World Inside Your Rainbow”


[kml_flashembed movie="" width="550" height="445" allowfullscreen="true" fvars="fs=1" /]

Writer, producer, and musician Jeymes Samuel created The Bullitts as an attempt to merge music and film to produce a rounded experience to his art.

The evocative video for “World Inside Your Rainbow” feels like a cross between an intimate home video and a vintage public broadcast channel documentary. The song is full of soul and tinged with reggae in a mood reminiscent of Fat Freddy’s Drop. You gotta dig that.

Purchase “World Inside Your Rainbow” on iTunes

Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud